contemporary chamber music [performance + composition + research]

nief-norf Summer Festival, June 7-19, 2015

‡ = world premiere
* = Call for Scores winner


Allison Adams (saxophone)
Christopher Adler (composition)
Andrew Bliss (performance/percussion)
Lisa Cella (flute)
Katelyn King (performance)
Andrea Violet Lodge (performance/piano)
Kerry O’Brien (performance/percussion/research)
Alexv Rolfe (performance)
Mike Truesdell (performance/percussion)
Ashley Walters (performance/cello)

Guest Artists

Nicholas Deyoe, composer
Jason Eckardt, composer
Jennifer Ellis, harp
Robert Honstein, composer *
Sid Richardson, composer *


Colleen Bernstein, Intern
Evan Monroe Chapman, Videographer & Photographer
Benny Craig, Assistant Videographer
Joshua Dreyer, Intern
Abby Fisher, Intern
Emory Hensley, Festival Manager & Photographer
Aaron Hynds, Intern

Performance Fellows

Joe LaRocca, Chris Schelb (flute)
David Floyd (bass clarinet)
Sarah Compton (violin)
Amanda Smith (viola)
Hannah Meyer, Iris Sidikman (cello)
Frank Meadows (double bass)
James Besaw (saxophone)
Cody Putman (bassoon)
Greg Becker, Jonathan Clancy, Jordan Curcuruto, Stephen Downing, Kyle Flens, Justin Lamb, Kevin O'Connor, Ryan Patterson, Eric Retterer, Greg Riss, Gloria Yehilevsky (percussion)

Composition Fellows

Nga-Man Chan, MJ Halco, Adam Kennaugh, Wells Leng, Timothy Miller, Phil Salathé, Laura Schwartz, Scott Shell, Sarah Wald

Research Summit Participants

David Chapman, John Green, Craig Hubbard, Kerry O'Brien


Christopher Adler, 010 machine states 
Christopher Adler, In Tall and Tufted Reeds
Christopher Adler, Zaum Box
Georges Aperghis, Les Guetteurs de Sons
Harrison Birtwistle, For O, For O, the Hobbyhorse is Forgot
Benjamin Britten, Solo Cello Suite Op. 72, I, II
David Burge, When Love Prevails
Elliot Carter, Figment III
Christopher Cerrone, Memory Palace, I, IV
Nga-Man Chan, In June
Ian Clarke, Great Train Race 
Elliot Cole, Bloom Suite, II, III, IV
Nicholas Deyoe, Ashley, Christopher, Andy
Nicholas Deyoe, Lullaby 5
Franco Donatoni, Bok
Franco Donatoni, Omar I
Jason Eckardt, Flux
Jason Eckardt, Tangled Loops
Beavan Flanagan, L’Essence perd son sens *
Philip Glass, 1+1
Philip Glass, Music in Fifths
Philip Glass, Music in the Shape of a Square
Philip Glass, Music in Similar Motion
Philip Glass, Two Pages
Judd Greenstein, The Elements of Elements
Gérard Grisey, Le Noir de l'Etoile
Edgar Guzmán, ∞¿?
Ben Hackbarth, Open End
MJ Halco, Madness and Motion of Heavenly Bodies
Lawton Hall, All Your Thens for Now
Amanda Harberg, For Sydney, I. Lullabye
Robert Honstein, Is It Auburn? *
Adam Kennaugh, Initial Contact
David Lang, Child
Christian Lauba, Steady Study on the Boogie
Wells Leng, Soar
Liza Lim, Invisibility
Simon Løffler, b
Alex Lunsqui, Entresons.Recreo
Steven Mackey, No Two Breaths
Joshua Malavé, Sonata for Solo Flute
Timothy Miller, 224 Slices of Pi
Rei Munakata, Performing Pouring Etiquette 
Steve Reich, Four Organs
Sid Richardson, Astrolabe *
Kyle Rowan, Tercets, expanding
Kaija Saariaho, Sept Papillons
Phil Salathé, Trefoil
Laura Schwartz, The Quick Brown Fox
Kurt Schwitters, Ursonate
Salvatore Sciarrino, Venere Che Le Grazie La Fiorscono
Scott Anthony Shell, Concealed Machine Elves Weaving Fundamentals Unaccounted For
Roberto Sierra, Cinco Bocetos
Stuart Saunders Smith, Three Winter Carols
Lois Vierk, Timberline
Sarah Wald, Pas de Quatre
Eric Wubbels, This is This is This