Each year the nnSF Call for Scores invites submissions of contemporary scores for chamber ensemble that are performed by Performance Fellows at the annual Nief-Norf Summer Festival. Composers of selected compositions will be invited to attend the festival and coach festival students and faculty in the preparation of the work.

PLEASE NOTE: The deadline for the 2019 Call for Scores has already passed. Winning selections will be announced later in the spring.

The nnSF19 Call for Scores invites submissions of works for chamber ensemble (3-12 players) for any of the following instruments.

  • guitar (acoustic or electric)

  • violin

  • viola

  • cello

  • double bass

  • voice

  • electronics (separate performer)

  • flute (all family)

  • clarinet (all family)

  • oboe

  • bassoon

  • saxophone (all family)

  • trumpet

  • horn

  • trombone

  • tuba

  • piano / keyboard

  • harp

  • percussion


The call is open to all composers without restriction. We welcome any of the following: scores requiring multiples of any of the above instruments (such as percussion ensemble or string quartet); works including improvisation, electronics (including audio or video), indeterminate notation or instrumentation; works that have been performed, recorded or published. All interested composers, at any point in their career are eligible to apply.

We are especially interested in submissions that tie into the theme of this year’s Research Summit, which is to interrogate the notion of genre in music. For example: works that embrace or defy genre categories, works that challenge the individuality of “the composer’s voice” by their genre associations, works in which genre references are an essential component, etc.

Submission fee: $15 for the first composition, $10 for each additional work (up to three).

Submission deadline: The Deadline for the 2019 Call for Scores has already passed.


Details: Selections will be made in part based on the instruments of enrolled fellows in the Performance Workshop. If your score is selected, you will be invited and expected to attend the nnSF19, during a three-day period determined by the rehearsal and performance schedule. Composers will be given the opportunity to work directly with the fellows in preparation for a performance of their pieces. Selected composers will not be required to pay registration or tuition and will be offered accommodations for two nights and meals for three days. However, travel will not be covered or reimbursed. 

Call for Scores Application Requirements:

Applicants should submit:

1) Completed Call for Scores Competition Submission Form including submission fee (when you submit the form, you will be provided a PayPal link to pay the submission fee). Please note the submission form will call for:

  • Your bio

  • Title of each submission

  • Program note for each submission. If your submission ties into the theme of the Research Summit, please explain how so in the program note.

  • Link to audio or video of the work, if available.

2) Email to callforscores@niefnorf.org containing a PDF of the score for each submission.

Please scan any hand-written materials. Please do not email audio or video files; these will not be accepted. Please post audio or video on a streaming service such as Youtube, Soundcloud, Dropbox, or Google Drive and include the link on the submission form.

Questions? Send us a note to callforscores@niefnorf.org

PLEASE NOTE: The deadline for the 2019 Call for Scores has already passed. Winning selections will be announced later in the spring.


Past Winners

2018 Juro Kim Feliz, Pangkur
2018 Jinhee Han, Echoes of Home
2018 Tomás La Porta, Haikus sin Palabras
2017 Carolyn Chen, Sentence
2017 Viet Cuong, Water, Wine, Brandy, Brine
2017 Brooks Frederickson, Fat Quarter
2016 Shiuan Chang, Monk
2016 Nicole Murphy, Stolen
2016 Filippo Santoro, Per quattro
2016 Brian Simalchik, Seven Songs
2015 Beavan Flanagan, L’essence perd son sens
2015 Robert Honstein, Is it Auburn?
2015 Sid Richardson, Astrolabe
2014 Aaron Helgeson, nothing from nothing (is black are white)
2013 Travis Alford, Froschteichmusik
2013 Bryan Christian, Combination
2013 Nicholas Deyoe, wir aber sind schon anders
2013 Lewis Nielson, Tocsin
2012 Samuel Andreyev, Stopping